Let us restore the church of St. Barbara in Vevey!

The church of St. Barbara in Vevey is a true emblem of the Orthodox presence in French-speaking Switzerland. There is now an urgent need to restore its interior.

5 good reasons to support the restoration

  1. Built in 1878, the Church of St. Barbara in Vevey is one of the oldest Orthodox churches in Western Europe.
  2. The whole church is classified as a historical monument, and protected by the State of Vaud and the Swiss Confederation.
  3. The church is fully part of the cultural life of the region. Its rich history and unique style give our church a special place in the religious architecture in Western Europe.
  4. Apart from some makeshift repair, the church has never benefited from any complete restoration of its interior since its construction. This heritage is today in a worrying state of dilapidation.
  5. The State of Vaud is supporting this project, which is implemented under the high patronage of both the General Directorate of Buildings and Heritage (DGIP) and the Department of Cultural Affairs.

Urgent works

Restoring the interior decoration of the church as well as more than 500 liturgical objects of great value, which are in very bad condition, has now become necessary to ensure the preservation of this heritage. Technical installations (e.g. heating, lighting, and electricity systems) must also be brought up to standard quickly to avoid any incident, guarantee safety and ensure optimal preservation of this heritage. The total estimated cost of the restoration works amounts to 5.63 million francs.

A Foundation to take care of the restoration process

The Foundation for the Restoration of the Church of St. Barbara in Vevey was created in early 2020, in order to carry out the fundraising campaign. The Foundation is recognised as a public interest entity, which is independent of the parish. The statute of the Foundation guarantees that the collected funds will be used only for their stated purpose.

Donate

The church of St. Barbara in Vevey is an important heritage treasure. Its interior is now in a serious state of dilapidation. Help us restore it!

News

Priority projects for 2022

Priority projects for 2022

Five years have passed since the restoration of the dome and the facades of the church. Now, six months after the reinstallation of the restored iconostasis and the doubling of downspout capacity to prevent water infiltration, several works still need to be done...

read more
Gutter lining to prevent water infiltration

Gutter lining to prevent water infiltration

Major maintenance works on the building were carried out in early November 2021 to ensure its water tightness. The inside of the lead pipes was lined with a synthetic material. It allows making the gutters incorporated into the masonry durable. This way, the walls and...

read more

Restaurons l'église Sainte-Barbara de Vevey!

L’église Sainte-Barbara de Vevey, véritable emblème de la présence orthodoxe en Suisse romande, doit bénéficier sans tarder d’une restauration de sa partie intérieure.

5 bonnes raisons de soutenir la restauration

  1. Édifiée en 1878, l’église Sainte-Barbara de Vevey est l’une des plus anciennes églises orthodoxes d’Europe occidentale.
  2. L’ensemble de l’église est classé en tant que monument historique et protégé par l’État de Vaud et la Confédération.
  3. Cette église fait partie intégrante de la vie culturelle de la région et occupe également, par la richesse de son histoire et son style unique, une place particulière dans l’architecture religieuse en Europe occidentale.
  4. Depuis sa construction, hormis quelques travaux de fortune, l’église n’a bénéficié d’aucune restauration intégrale de sa partie intérieure et cet héritage se trouve aujourd’hui dans un état de vétusté préoccupant.
  5. L’État de Vaud soutient ce projet, qui s’inscrit sous le haut patronage de la Direction générale des immeubles et du patrimoine ainsi que du Service des affaires culturelles.

Des travaux à entreprendre urgemment

Une restauration du décor intérieur de l’église et de plus de 500 objets liturgiques de grande valeur, qui se trouvent en mauvais état, est aujourd’hui nécessaire pour assurer la préservation de cet héritage. Les installations techniques (chauffage, éclairage, électricité) doivent elles aussi être remises aux normes rapidement pour éviter tout incident, garantir la sécurité et assurer la préservation optimale de ce patrimoine. Le coût total des opérations est estimé à 5,63 millions de francs.

Une Fondation pour restaurer l’église

La Fondation pour la restauration de l’église Sainte-Barbara de Vevey a été créée début 2020 afin de mener à bien la recherche de fonds pour financer les travaux. Indépendante de la paroisse et reconnue d’intérêt public, elle garantit statutairement que l’argent ainsi récolté servira uniquement à cette fin.

Faire un don

L’église Sainte-Barbara de Vevey est un trésor patrimonial dont la partie intérieure se trouve aujourd’hui dans un état de vétusté avancé. Aidez-nous à financer sa restauration!

Nos dernières actualités

Projets prioritaires 2022

Projets prioritaires 2022

Cinq ans après la restauration de la coupole et des façades de l’église et six mois après la réinstallation de l’iconostase restaurée d’une part, ainsi que le doublage des descentes d’eau pour éviter les infiltrations d’autre part, divers travaux doivent encore être...

lire plus
Doublage des descentes d’eau pour éviter des infiltrations

Doublage des descentes d’eau pour éviter des infiltrations

D'importants travaux d’entretien du bâtiment ont été réalisés début novembre 2021 pour assurer l’étanchéité à l’eau. L’intérieur des tuyaux de plomb a été doublé avec une matière synthétique. Cette opération permet de rendre durablement pérennes les gouttières...

lire plus